Gluten-Free Valentine's Day Candy | WhyFly

The Blog

February 14, 2018 0 Broadband

Gluten-Free Valentine’s Day Candy

The list of gluten-free Valentine’s candy, as of February 2018.

For full article click: https://www.verywell.com/gluten-free-valentines-candy-562457

Unless noted otherwise, this list applies to the United States only—manufacturing (and consequently, gluten-free lists) differ from country to country.

If you’re looking for a type of candy that’s not on this list, check out my comprehensive main gluten-free candy list, which includes most widely-available candies.

Gluten-Free Valentine’s Candy

  • Brach’s Conversation Hearts. In prior years, these weren’t considered gluten-free, but they now appear on manufacturer Ferrara Candy Company’s list of candy that doesn’t contain wheat, barley or rye.
  • Dove chocolate. Dove chocolate, manufactured by Mars Chocolate (which also makes M&Ms), is usually gluten-free.
  • Hershey’s Kisses. Hershey’s reports that plain milk chocolate Kisses are safe on the gluten-free diet, as are four out of five filled Kisses (as of January 2018.
  • Junior Mints (Heart-Shaped). These are produced by Tootsie Roll Industries, which states that all its products are considered gluten-free.
  • Lifesavers Candy ‘n Stickers. Lifesavers, made by Wrigley, are considered gluten-free.
  • M&Ms. There are plenty of Valentine M&M products from which to choose, including specially colored pink and red M&Ms and M&M “Sweet Sayings”. M&Ms, like Dove Chocolates, are made by Mars Chocolate, which says it will call out any gluten grain ingredients on the label. Obviously, pretzel M&Ms aren’t safe, but other types of M&Ms that might tend to sound safe can suffer from the risk of gluten cross-contamination. This will be called out on the label in a “may contain wheat” warning. This year, I’ve seen M&Ms “Cupid Messages” with that “may contain wheat” warning. Again, the bottom line: always read the ingredients list—Mars will disclose these cross-contamination risks, so you can avoid products that are at risk for gluten cross-contamination.
  • Peeps. It’s easy to find Valentine’s Day heart-shaped Peeps, and manufacturer Just Born labels packages “gluten-free” (look for the designation in the same area as the nutritional information) if those Peeps have been produced in a way that’s safe for us.
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. These peanut-y treats appear on Hershey’s current gluten-free list and come in a variety of Valentine’s Day-specific wrappers. However, the heart shaped ones and the minis are NOT considered gluten-free.
  • Starburst Candy ‘n Stickers and Jelly Beans. Like the Lifesavers (which come in a nearly identical package), these treats are gluten-free.
  • Sweethearts Conversation Hearts. These tiny confections with the cute sayings on them (like “Be Mine,” “New Love” and “Dream”) are made by Necco, and the company considers them gluten-free. Note that the large Necco hearts include a “may contain wheat” warning, so they may not be safe.
  • Tootsie Rolls with Conversation Messages. According to the company, all Tootsie Roll products are gluten-free with the exception of Andes cookies, so these Valentine products should be safe.
  • York Peppermint Patties. An alert reader reported seeing these with “gluten-free” on the package. If you find Peppermint Patties labeled this way, then they’re safe for us (don’t buy any heart-shaped Peppermint Patties that don’tcarry a gluten-free label!).
WhyFly Awesome Internet allows you to stream your favorite movies, TV shows and so much more! For $55/month and no contract…you can’t go wrong! At WhyFly we pride ourselves on helping our community gain a better understanding of how the streaming world works. It can be intimidating to make the change, but once you do, you will be so glad you did! Click here: https://www.whyfly.com/watchtv/#.Wi1f9bT82u4 to read more about how to make the switch to streaming your favorite Tv, movies, and local news channels.